Killed media workers

Media workers killed in 2008

Intro | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010

1. Name: Paranirupesingham Devakumar

Designation: Journalist

Assassinated on: 28 May 2008 in Jaffna

Additional remarks: Jaffna correspondent of Sakthi TV and the head of its’ provincial station. Hacked to death after being abducted by an armed group, while on his way home from work.

2. Name: Mohamad Rasmi Maharoof

Designation: Journalist

Assassinated on: 06 October 2008 in Anuradhapura

Additional remarks: A provincial correspondent for Sirasa TV. He was killed while covering an opposition party gathering when a suicide bomber, believed to be a member of the LTTE, detonated an explosive device.

3. Name: Rasiya Jeynthiran

Designation: Journalist

Assassinated on: October 2008 (date unverifiable).

Additional remarks: Formerly worked as a sub editor at Tamil daily 'Eelanatham'. Waylaid and killed by the Sri Lankan troops in Mannar. Further details remain unknown.


Journalists for Democracy in Sri Lanka

  • JDS is the Sri Lankan partner organization of international media rights group, Reporters Without Borders (RSF). The launching of this website was made possible by the EU’s European Instrument for Democracy and Human Rights (EIDHR), of which Reporters Without Borders is a beneficiary.